FAQ content

Person Profiles: View and manage a profile

In this article

View a person profile

When viewing a profile, you can:


  1. Go to Profiles > People.
  2. To view the person's profile, click on their name.
    1. Enter text in the Keyword filter to show only profiles containing that search term in the Name, Email, Type, and/or Record Owner fields.
    2. Enter text in the Name filter to show only profiles containing that search term in the Name field.
    3. Use the Type filter to show only profiles matching any of the selected profile Types.
    4. Enter text in the Email filter to show only profiles containing that search term in the Email field.
    5. Use the Owner filter to show only profiles owned by any of the selected Record Owners.
    6. Use the # Interactions filter to show only profiles having a certain number of interactions.
      • From the dropdown, select the operator you want to use: greater than (>), less than (<), or equal to (=).
      • In the number field, use the up/down arrows or type in the number of interactions to filter by.
      • For example, to show only records with more than 5 interactions, select the greater than (>) operator from the dropdown, then enter 5 in the number field.
    7. Use the Last Interaction filter to show only profiles with a last interaction within the selected date range.
    8. If you have applied one or more filters, click on the Clear Search button to reset them.
    9. Use the page controls to change how may profiles display at once and to navigate between pages or records.
    10. Click on a column heading to sort by that column in ascending order. Click it a second time to sort in descending order.
    11. Click on the refresh icon to refresh the list of records.
The People page displaying the filter options and list of profiles

Edit a profile's general information

To edit the general information in a person's profile, such as their name and primary email address:

  1. Go to Profiles > People.
  2. To edit a person's profile, click on their mode_edit icon in the Actions column.
Clicking the Edit icon for a person profile
  1. On the Edit Person page, make as many changes as needed to the profile's general information, such as the person's name, contact info, and profile type(s).
  2. Click the Save button when finished.
The Edit Person page

While viewing a person's profile

If you are already viewing a person's profile, click on the Edit button in the General Information box to customize it. 

The Edit button in the General Information box

Customize a profile's picture

To add, change, or remove a person's profile image:

  1. Go to Profiles > People.
  2. To view the person's profile, click on their name.
viewing a person profile
  1. While viewing the profile page, click on the current profile image to modify it.
  2. Click on the Browse button to select and upload a new image. Or, click on the Clear button to remove the current profile image (this will restore the default placeholder image).
  3. Click the Save button.
Options to clear or upload an image

Manage a profile's relationships

In LibConnect, a relationship allows you to track how two people are connected. For example:

  • Person A is a supervisor of Person B
  • Person C is a coworker of Person D
  • Person E is a student of Person F

Before you can create a relationship:

  • An admin must add one or more terms to the Relationship Types category.
  • Each person you want to connect with must have a profile in LibConnect.
Example of relationships added to a profile
Example of relationships added to a profile

Add a relationship

  1. While viewing a person profile, in the Relationships box, click on the New Relationship button.
Clicking the New Relationship button
  1. On the New Relationship modal, from the Relationship Type dropdown select the appropriate relationship term for these profiles.
    • The available terms are determined by your admin.
    • The term you select will be used with all of the person profiles you selected.
  2. In the Relationship with field, click on Select Profiles and start typing the name of the other person.
  3. Once you find the correct person, click on their name. Repeat Steps 3 & 4 to add relationships with additional people.
  4. Click the Save button. This will add the relationship to the current person's profile, as well as the profile(s) selected in the Relationship with field.
Selecting person profiles

Edit or delete a relationship

  1. To edit an existing relationship, click on its edit icon in the Actions column.
  2. To remove a relationship, click on its delete_forever icon in the Actions column. This will remove the relationship from both people's profiles.
The Edit and Delete options

Manage a profile's memberships

In LibConnect, a membership allows you to track how a person and an organization are connected. For example:

  • Person A is an employee of Organization B
  • Person C is director of Organization D
  • Person E is a member of Organization F

Before you can create a membership:

  • An admin must add one or more terms to the Membership Types category.
  • Each person and organization you want to connect with must have a profile in LibConnect
Example of memberships added to a profile
Example of memberships added to a profile

Add a membership

  1. While viewing a person's profile, click on the New Membership button in the Current list of Memberships box.
Clicking the New Membership button
  1. From the Membership Type dropdown, select the appropriate membership term for these profiles.
    • The available terms are determined by your admin.
    • The term you select will be used with all of the organization profiles you selected.
  2. In the Membership with field, click on Select Profiles and start typing the name of the organization.
  3. Once you find the correct organization, click on it. Repeat Step 3 to add memberships with additional organizations.
  4. Click the Save button. This will add the membership to the current person's profile, as well as the organization profile(s) selected in the Membership with field.
Selecting organization profiles

Edit or delete a membership

  1. To edit an existing membership, click on its edit icon in the Actions column.
  2. To remove a membership, click on its delete_forever icon in the Actions column. This will remove the relationship from both the person's and organization's profile.
The Edit and Delete options for memberships

Manage a profile's notes & attachments

Notes and attachments allow you to store important info and attachments with a profile or project. This could include meeting notes, agendas, flyers, transcripts, licenses, contracts, and any other important information you might need to track. By keeping this organized right within your profiles and projects, they're easier to find and share.

  1. Find the person profile where you want to add a note.
  2. From the Current list of Notes & Attachments box, select New Note/Attachment button.
Selecting New Note/attachment from the New menu
  1. In the Subject field, enter a brief description of the note's contents.
  2. From the Assoc. Profiles field, click on the Select Profiles menu, and search for the profiles you want to add. To add a profile, click on its name in the list of results.
  3. From the Projects field, click on the Select Projects menu and search for the projects you want to add. To add a project, click on its name in the list of results.
  4. If you want to link to specific pages, documents, or sites, enter a URL and optional description in the Links field.
    1. To add more links to the note, click on the Add Link‚Äč button.
  5. Use the Details field to add content to your note.
  6. If you'd like to upload files with this note, click on the Choose Files button and select them from your computer.
  7. Click the Save button to create your note. It will be added to the Notes & Attachments section of each profile and/or project you selected.
Adding a new note

Delete a profile

  1. Go to Profiles > People.
  2. To delete a profile, click on its delete_forever icon in the Actions column. (A profile can only be deleted by its owner(s) or an admin user. If you don't have permission to delete a profile, then this option will be disabled in the Actions column.)
The Delete icon for a profile
  1. When prompted, confirm that you want to delete the profile and click the Delete button.
Confirming the profile deletion

While viewing a person's profile

If you are already viewing a person's profile, click on the Delete Profile button at the top of the page.

  • Note: a profile can only be deleted by its owner(s) or an admin user.
  • If you don't have permission to delete a profile, then this button will be disabled.
Clicking the Delete Profile button