FAQ content

Add and manage user roles & permissions

In this article

Roles & Permissions allows Admins to create new roles in LibCRM that can be assigned specific permissions in the People, Organizations, Interactions, and Reports modules. The roles that you create can then be applied to any account in the system to more granularly control what aspects of the above-mentioned modules they can access. 

For example, if you want to allow certain users to be able to view only the People and Organization profiles that they manage, you can create a role that blocks them from viewing, editing, and/or deleting profiles that they do not own. Or perhaps you have users that only need to have access to LibCRM to create and run reports. You can set up a role that allows them to create and edit reports, but blocks all access to any Interaction details.

For People, Organizations, Interactions, and Reports you can assign Create, View, Edit, or Delete permissions. There is also a permission to allow a role to View Statistics for People and Organizations.


Getting there

To add and manage roles, go to Admin > Roles & Permissions.

Selecting Roles & Permissions from the Admin menu


Adding a new role

  1. Click the New Role button.

The New Role button

  1. Give the new role a Name on the New Role window.
  2. Add an optional Description to the role.
    • The description will be displayed on the Roles & Permissions page to provide more context to the roles that you set up.
  3. Configure the role's permissions for People profiles. When enabled, each permission comes with the following options:
    1. Owned by this user only: if active, the account holder can only see/edit/delete items that they own.
    2. All (not owned by admin): if active, the account holder can see/edit/delete all the items that are not owned by an admin.
    3. All: if active, the account holder can see/edit/delete all items, including those owned by Admins.
  4. Configure the role's permissions for Organization profiles.
    • The options for the permissions are the same as those listed above.
  5. Configure the role's permissions for Interactions.
    • The options for the permissions are the same as those listed above.
  6. Configure the role's permissions for Reports
    • There are separate permissions for creating reports and report templates.
  7. Click Save to create the new role.

The New Role page


Edit and delete roles

  1. See the number of accounts assigned to each role in the Users column.
  2. To quickly view a role's permissions, click on its visibility icon in the Actions column
  3. To edit a role's permissions, click on its mode_edit icon in the Actions column.
    • Note: you cannot edit or delete the Admin role. 
  4. To delete a role, click on its delete_forever icon in the Actions column.
    • Note: you cannot delete a role that has been assigned to at least one account. All accounts must be assigned another role before you can delete the role.

Options to edit and delete roles