Manage or remove LibGuides user accounts

Viewing your user accounts

  1. Go to Admin > Accounts.
  2. Under the Accounts tab, use the table controls to sort and filter the list of users.
    1. Click on a column heading to sort by that column in ascending order. Click it again to sort in descending order.
    2. Use the column filters to narrow the list by ID, Email, Last Name, First Name, or Level.
    3. Use the navigation options at the bottom of the table to move between pages of users.
    4. Use the  Copy,  Excel, and  PDF buttons to copy or export the list of users currently displaying on the page.
    5. Use the Export All Records option to export the entire list of users, either in  HTML or  CSV format.
    6. To view a list of the guides a user owns, click on the number in the Guide Count column. 

Viewing accounts under the Accounts tab


Editing an account

To edit a user's account level, additional permissions, and group access (CMS only):

  1. Click on the user's Manage Account () icon in the Actions column.
    1. Looking to change a user's email address or name? This can only be done from within LibApps (not LibGuides), either by a LibApps admin or the user.
    2. Use the Level options to change the user's account level.
      • Admin users: these users can create content, edit all content in the system, and manage system settings & customizations.
      • Regular users: these users can create and edit their own content. Ideal for most users who will be creating and maintaining guides.
      • Editor users: these users can only edit guides to which they've been assigned as editors. Ideal for collaborators, such as students, faculty, or volunteers.
      • Contributor users: this user level is only available with E-Reserves. These users have the same access to E-Reserves as regular users, but editor-level access in the rest of the system.
    3. For regular-level users, use the Additional Permissions options to add or remove extra account permissions.
      • Edit all guides: this allows the user to edit and delete any guide in the system. For CMS customers, if a guide is assigned to a group, these users must still be given access to the group before they can edit the guide.
      • Manage subjects/tags/friendly URLs (CMS only): this allows the user access to the Admin > Metadata & URLs page, where they can manage subjects, tags, and friendly URLs.
      • Manage assets (CMS only): this allows the user to add & edit all assets, resource icons, and the A-Z Database List.
      • Manage e-reserves (E-Reserves subscribers only): this allows the user to manage e-reserves requests and settings, as well as edit all e-reserves content.
      • Manage discussions (CMS only): this allows the user to manage all discussions and tags.
      • Manage mSite Builder sites (mSite subscribers only): this allows the user to add and manage mobile sites and their content.
    4. If you have LibGuides CMS, use the Group Access dropdowns to adjust the user's access to each of your groups. (Admins have access to all groups, so these options will only appear for Regular, Contributor, and Editor users.)
      • Admin (available for Regular users only): this will allow the user to add & edit their own guides in the group, as well as manage the group's settings.
        • This does not allow them to edit guides in the group owned by other users. For that, they still need the Edit all guides permission.
        • This does not give them admin access to your entire system -- they can only configure this group's settings.
      • Regular: this will allow Regular users to add & edit their own guides. Editor and Contributor users will be allowed to edit only the guides to which they've been assigned in the group.
      • Read-Only (internal groups only): this will only allow users to view public pages in the group once they've logged in, but they cannot add or edit content in the group.
      • No Access: this will prevent the user from adding or editing content in the group. If this is an internal group, they will also be prevented from viewing any content in the group.
  2. Click the Save button.

Click on an account's Manage Account icon

Editing a user account


Removing a user account

To remove a user's access to your LibGuides system:

  1. Click on the user's Remove Account () icon in the Actions column.
  2. The Remove Account window will appear. Review the summary to confirm that you selected the correct user account.
  3. From the dropdown menu, you must select a user account to inherit the content owned by the user you are removing. This will reassign the ownership of the content, which includes both guides and assets.
    • If you want to divide a user's guides or assets between multiple users, you will have to do this for each guide/asset individually before removing the user's account.
    • If you choose to add the user back to your LibGuides system in the future, they will not automatically reassume ownership of that content.
  4. To proceed, select the checkbox next to I understand this cannot be undone.
  5. Click the Remove button.

Important notes about removing an account

Please note that this will only remove the user's access to your LibGuides system.

  • If that user has access to your other Springy apps (such as LibAnswers), they will still be able to log into those systems.
  • If that user only had access to your LibGuides system, then they will no longer be able to sign into your LibApps at all.
  • The removed user's profile will no longer appear on your LibGuides pages.
  • Removing an account from LibGuides does not delete the user's LibApps account, preserving their Image Manager library.

The Remove Account icon

The Remove Account window

Related Articles