Editing and managing your guides
Editing your own guides via the dashboard
A really quick way to edit your guides is from the LibGuides Shortcuts box on your dashboard. This will display a list of all guides you have permission to edit, with guides you own listed first so you can more easily find them.
Not sure if you're on the dashboard? If you've logged into LibGuides, then this is usually the first page you see. However, to get there at any time, simply click on Home in the orange command bar.
Then, in the LibGuides Shortcuts box, use the Edit Existing Guide dropdown to select the guide you want to edit.
- Any guide you own, or to which you've been assigned as an editor, will appear at the top of the list, grouped by status.
- If you are an admin user or have been give the Edit All Guides permission (CMS only), then you will also be able to select any guide in the system.
Editing and managing guides via the Guides page
To see a list of all guides in your system, go to Content > Guides. Depending upon your user account's permissions, you will be able to view and edit guides from this list
Options for editing and managing guides
- Click on any column to sort the list of guides in ascending order. Click it again to sort in descending order.
- Use the filters in each column to limit the list of guides.
- Only know the guide's title? Try filtering by the Name field.
- Want to see only your guides? Enter your name in the Owner field.
- Filters can be combined, too, so you can limit by both Name and Owner, for example.
- To export a list of all of the guides in your system, click on the Export All Records button and select either the HTML or CSV format.
- Both export options will include all of the columns from the list of guides (ID, Name, Type, Owner, Group, Friendly URL, Status, Created, and Updated).
- In addition, the Guide URL will also be included in the export files.
- Click on the guide's Name to view or edit the guide. If you have permission to edit a guide, you can also click its Edit () icon in the Actions column. (This icon will not display if you do not have permission to edit the guide.)
- If you are an Admin-level user, or a Regular-level user with the Edit all Guides permission (CMS only), you will be able to view and edit all guides.
- If you are a Regular-level user, you will be able to view any guide, but only edit those you own or to which you've been assigned as an editor.
- If you are an Editor-level user, you will only be able to view and edit guides to which you've been assigned as an editor.
- To reassign ownership of a guide, click on the Change Guide Owner () icon in the Actions column. (This option will only appear if you are the guide's owner, or an Admin-level user.)
- To delete a guide, click on the Delete Guide () icon in the Actions column. (This option will only appear if you are the guide's owner, or an Admin-level user.)
Be careful when deleting guides!
Deleting a guide will permanently remove the guide from your system and cannot be undone.
- When deleting a guide, all Link, Media/Widget, Book, Document/File, RSS Feed, Poll, Remote Script, LibAnswers Widget, and LibWizard Item assets will remain in your assets library, so can still be used.
- However, all pages, boxes, and rich text/HTML content items will be deleted. If they were being reused in other guides, then they will no longer appear.
- Statistics for deleted guides are retained and will appear in reports with its original ID number and a title of [deleted].
- An HTML backup is automatically created when a guide is deleted and can be viewed under Tools > Data Exports > Guide HTML. Although you cannot restore a guide from a backup, the backup can help you to recreate the deleted content in a new guide.
If content from the guide is being reused elsewhere, or if you are just hoping to hide the guide from the public without completely deleting it, consider changing your guide's status to Unpublished, instead.