FAQ content

Control how guides can be shared in your site & the LibGuides Community

In this article

When creating a new guide, users have the option to create a copy of an existing guide instead of starting from scratch. Whether or not a guide is able to be copied depends upon its sharing permission. Each guide can be set to one of three possible permissions: Community; Internal; and No. These can be set individually in each guide, though Admin users have the option to disable Community sharing for all guides in your LibGuides system.

The table below provides an overview of what each permission allows.

Permission Can be copied by users in the same LibGuides system? Can be copied by users in other LibGuides systems?
Community Yes Yes
Internal Yes No
No (only available when editing an individual guide) No No
 Important notes about sharing
  • Admins can choose to disable community sharing for all guides. When disabled, guide owners will only be able to choose from the Internal or No permissions.
  • Sharing is turned on by default when creating a new guide, but can be adjusted at any time.
  • Community sharing allows users from other LibGuides systems to copy your guide.
    • A guide must also have a status of Published or Private in order to be copied within the Community.
    • Guides assigned to internal or restricted groups (CMS only), or the "Internal Guide" or "Template Guide" guide types, cannot be copied by others in the Community.
  • Setting a guide's sharing permission to No prevents the guide from being copied when creating a new guide.
  • Setting a guide's sharing permission to No also prevents Regular-level users that do not have the Edit All Guides permission and those users that are not editors on the guide from reusing individual boxes or pages.
    • Admins, Regular-level users with the Edit All Guides permission, and editors are still able to reuse content from these guides.

Enable or disable sharing with the Community for all guides

Admin users have the ability to disable Community sharing for guides in their system.

  1. Go to Admin > System Settings.

Selecting System Settings from the Admin menu

  1. Under the General tab, click on the Guide Options panel to expand it.
  2. Select the desired permission from the Share Guide Content options.
    • Internal: when enabled, guides will not be able to be shared with users in the LibGuides Community.
      • However, guides can still be shared with other users in your LibGuides system.
      • When enabled, guides currently allowing community sharing will be switched to the Internal permission.
    • Community: when enabled, users in the LibGuides Community will be able to create copies of Published and Private guides in your system.
      • This does not require you to share all of your guides, however.
      • Each individual guide can still be set to Internal or No sharing.

Enabling community sharing of guides


Change an individual guide's sharing permission

When editing a guide, you can change its sharing permission. This change will only affect that guide. Please note that the Community sharing option may not be available if your Admin has set the Share Guide Content option to Internal in your system settings (see above).

  1. Edit your guide and click on the Edit Guide button (it will reflect the current status of your guide).

Selecting Change Status & Share from the Edit Guide dropdown

  1. Select Change Status & Share from the dropdown.
  2. Under the Guide Publishing tab, click on the permission you want to enable from the Share Guide Content options.
  3. Click the adjacent Save button.

Setting a guide's sharing permission