How to search, browse, and export workflow form submissions

Once a user has submitted a workflow form, it is ready to be reviewed by staff via the Submissions Explorer. When reviewing a form submission, users will be able to:

  • View all data submitted by the user
  • Add a note to the submission
  • Move the submission to a different stage of the workflow
  • View the submission's workflow history and notes, which logs all notes and stage changes
  • Delete the submission

Who can review form submissions?

  • Admin users can view and manage all workflow form submissions.
  • Regular users, however, can only view and manage submissions for forms to which an Admin has given them access.
  • If a Regular user does not have access to any forms, then they will be unable to access the Submissions Explorer.

[Return to top]


Searching the Submissions Explorer

To view and manage submissions, go to Forms > Submissions Explorer. This will list the submissions for all forms to which you have access.

Use the filters at the top of the page to narrow the list by:

  1. Form ("Any Form" is selected by default)
  2. Stage (you can only select a specific stage when filtering by a specific form)
  3. Date range
  4. Keywords in the submitter's e-mail address, name, or phone number

When finished selecting your filters, click the Go button to update the Submissions Explorer.

Submissions Explorer filter options

Exporting submissions data

  1. Apply your desired filters and click the Go button.
  2. Click the Export button. This will download a CSV file containing only those filtered records.

The Export button

[Return to top]


Reviewing a submission

To leave a note and/or move a submission to a different stage of your workflow:

  1. On the Submissions Explorer page, click on a submission's Review link in the Action column.

A submission's Review link

  1. You can view the submission's response data and history on the left column of the page.
    1. If the form included a file upload field, click on the download () icon next to the file name to download it.
  2. If you would like to move this submission to a new stage, select it from the Stage dropdown in the Add note & update stage box.
  3. If you would like to add a note to this submission, enter it in the Note field of the Add note & update stage box. (To add a note without moving the submission to a new stage, simply leave the current stage selected in the Stage dropdown.)
  4. If you would like to attach a file to your note, click on the Select file button and choose the file you'd like to upload from your computer.
  5. Click the Save button.
    1. The note and/or stage change will appear in the submission's Workflow History & Notes.
    2. To edit one of your previous notes, click on its Edit () icon. (You can only edit notes you've created -- you cannot edit other users' notes.)
    3. If a file was attached to the note, click on the download () icon next to the file name to download it.
  6. Click on the Back to All Submissions button to return to the Submissions Explorer page.

Options to add a note and update a submission's stage

[Return to top]


Deleting a submission

To permanently delete a submission and workflow history:

  1. On the Submissions Explorer page, click on a submission's Review link in the Action column.

A submission's Review link

  1. Click on the Delete Submission link in the left column, below the submission's response data.
  2. You will be prompted to confirm your decision. To proceed, click on the Delete Submission button.
    • Please note that this will delete the submission, including its workflow history, notes, and attachments.
    • This cannot be undone so please be careful!

The Delete Submission link 

[Return to top]

Related Articles