FAQ content

Shifts: Give up a shift

In this article

If you can no longer work an upcoming shift (and your schedule allows it), you can give up that shift so other workers on your schedule can take it.

Please note that this does not immediately remove you from the shift. You will remain assigned to the shift until or unless someone else claims it.

Give a shift up

  1. While on the dashboard, click the Give Up button for the shift in the My Upcoming Shifts tab.
the give up shift button
  1. In the modal window that opens, you can choose to notify your co-workers assigned to this schedule that you are giving up your shift.
    1. You can add an optional note in the Note/Email Message text box. The note will be included alongside the shift details in the email digest for available shifts that is sent out.
    2. By default, a digest email of all given up shifts will be sent out each hour. If you would prefer to send an email right away, then select the Send email alert immediately checkbox.
  2. Click the Give Up button. If you changed your mind, click Close
the give up shift window
  1. Your shift will be marked Give Up - Pending until a co-worker picks up the shift.

Cancel a pending give-up request

If you want to cancel giving up the shift that has not yet been picked up, click the Give up - Pending link.

clicking the Give Up - Pending link to cancel a request