FAQ content

Forms: Manage a form's view and edit permissions

In this article

By default, all users are allowed to view a form, its report, and its individual submissions. Only the form's owner and Admin users are allowed to edit it.

These permissions can be adjusted by the form's owner or Admins at any time, allowing you to further control which users are allowed to view and/or edit the form. The table below provides a summary of permissions.

Action Admin User Regular User (Owner) Regular User (Edit Permission) Regular User (View Permission) Regular User (No Permission)
Access the form's Edit page Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Delete the form Yes Yes No No No
Preview the form Yes Yes Yes Yes No
View the form's URL/embed code Yes Yes Yes Yes No
View the form options Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Edit the form permissions Yes Yes No No No
Edit other form options Yes Yes Yes No No
View the form's fields Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Edit the form's fields Yes Yes Yes No No
View the form's report & submissions Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Delete the form's submissions Yes Yes Yes No No

To customize the form permissions:

  1. While editing your form, click on the Permissions panel under the Form Options tab.
  2. Use the View Permission dropdown to choose which users can view the form's Edit page.
    • Admin-Level Users: this will restrict access to only Admin users and the form's owner. The form will be hidden from all other users on the Forms page.
    • Admins Plus These Accounts...: this will restrict access to Admin users, the form's owner, and only those users you select from the list (Tip: hold CTRL + click to select multiple users).
    • All Users: this will allow all users in the system to view the form's Edit page.
  3. Use the Edit Permission dropdown to choose which users can view and edit the form's options, content, and submissions.
    • Admin-Level Users: this will restrict access to only Admin users and the form's owner.
    • Admins Plus These Accounts...: this will restrict access to Admin users, the form's owner, and only those users you select from the list (Tip: hold CTRL + click to select multiple users).
    • All Users: this will allow all users in the system full access to view and edit the form's options, content, and submissions.
      • Note: the View Permission dropdown will be disabled when this option is selected because it's included with the Edit permission.
  4. Click the Save Changes button at the top of the page.
The View Permission and Edit Permission options