FAQ content

Surveys: Manage a survey's view and edit permissions

In this article

By default, all users are allowed to view a survey, its report, and its individual submissions. Only the survey's owner and Admin users are allowed to edit it.

These permissions can be adjusted by the survey's owner or Admins at any time, allowing you to further control which users are allowed to view and/or edit the survey. The table below provides a summary of permissions.

Action Admin User Regular User (Owner) Regular User (Edit Permission) Regular User (View Permission) Regular User (No Permission)
Access the survey's Edit page Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Delete the survey Yes Yes No No No
Preview the survey Yes Yes Yes Yes No
View the survey's URL/embed code Yes Yes Yes Yes No
View the survey options Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Edit the survey permissions Yes Yes No No No
Edit other survey options Yes Yes Yes No No
View the survey's fields Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Edit the survey's fields Yes Yes Yes No No
View the survey's report & submissions Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Delete the survey's submissions Yes Yes Yes No No

To customize survey permissions:

  1. While editing your survey, click on the Permissions panel under the Survey Options tab.
  2. Use the View Permission dropdown to choose which users can view the survey's Edit page.
    • Admin-Level Users: this will restrict access to only Admin users and the survey's owner. The survey will be hidden from all other users on the Surveys page.
    • Admins Plus These Accounts...: this will restrict access to Admin users, the survey's owner, and only those users you select from the list (Tip: hold CTRL + click to select multiple users).
    • All Users: this will allow all users in the system to view the survey's Edit page.
  3. Use the Edit Permission dropdown to choose which users can view and edit the survey's options, content, and submissions.
    • Admin-Level Users: this will restrict access to only Admin users and the survey's owner.
    • Admins Plus These Accounts...: this will restrict access to Admin users, the survey's owner, and only those users you select from the list (Tip: hold CTRL + click to select multiple users).
    • All Users: this will allow all users in the system full access to view and edit the survey's options, content, and submissions.
      • Note: the View Permission dropdown will be disabled when this option is selected because it's included with the Edit permission.
  4. Click the Save Changes button at the top of the page.
The View Permission and Edit Permission options