Viewing a tutorial / assessment in Preview Mode

While viewing your tutorial in Preview Mode, you can:

  • See exactly how your tutorial will look to the public, including your welcome screen, slides, form fields, question page breaks, and thank you screen.
  • Try out correct/wrong answer text, field rules, file uploads, and other features.
  • Test out look & feel, visibility, password, and other settings.
  • Submit your survey and test out grading & email notifications.
  • Review your test submissions. While in Preview Mode, all submissions will be separated from your users' submission data.

Launching Preview Mode

​When editing your tutorial, click on the blue Preview button at the top of the page.

  1. If you click on the preview button above the Slide Area, the preview will start at the beginning of your tutorial. This will either be your welcome screen (if customized), or the first slide.

The Preview button above the Slide Area

  1. If you click on the preview button above the Slide Workpad (i.e. when editing an individual slide), the preview will start at that slide.

The Preview button above the Slide Workpad


Preview Mode features

When in Preview Mode, a green navigation bar will appear over the top of your tutorial. This not only lets you know you're in Preview Mode, but it also provides you with several options.

  1. To navigate quickly between tutorial slides, click the Jump to Slide button and select a slide from the dropdown.
  2. Under the Options dropdown, you can choose to:
    • Ignore Required questions. Selecting this option will allow you to submit your tutorial without having to fill in required fields.
    • Show Hidden Fields. Selecting the option will allow you to view hidden fields, which is helpful if you have field rules in place.
  3. Click the Share/URL button to view your tutorial's embed code and public URL.
  4. Click the Preview Mode Reports button to view and analyze all of submissions made while in Preview Mode.
    • All submissions made in Preview Mode are kept in a separate list in your tutorial's reports.
    • You can use all of the same analysis reports on your preview data as you can your real data.
  5. Click on the close (close) button to exit Preview Mode. This will take you to the public view of your tutorial.

A tutorial in Preview Mode

Related Articles