FAQ content

Tutorials: Redirect a user to a different URL after a standalone tutorial submission

In this article

You can choose to redirect a user to a specific URL, such as your library's homepage or a LibGuide, after submitting your standalone tutorial (there is no redirect option for an embedded tutorial). When enabled, the user will be redirected to the URL of your choice after 5 seconds (a countdown timer will display on-screen to let them know).

  • If the Email the user the results of the tutorial/assessment option is enabled for your Thank You Screen, the countdown will not begin until the user submits their email address or skips the prompt.
  • If you have enabled the options to display a user's grade and/or correct answers for your Thank You Screen, users will still only have 5 seconds to view them. For best results, you may not want to use a redirect URL when also using these options
  • If the Display a button at end allowing users to retake the tutorial/assessment option is enabled for your Thank You Screen, users will have 5 seconds to click the Retake button before being redirected.
Example of a redirect countdown timer on the Thank You screen
Example of a redirect countdown timer on the Thank You screen

To set up this redirect in a standalone tutorial:

  1. While editing your tutorial, under Tutorial Options tab, click on the Submission Behavior panel to expand it.
  2. Under Post-Submission, enter the full URL where users should be redirected in the Redirect URL field.
  3. Click the Save Changes button.
Customizing the Redirect URL