Along with actually answering your users' tickets, you should also spend some time keeping your queue's tidy--managing spam, purging (and restoring, when necessary) deleted tickets, and ensuring that each ticket's status is correct.
Separating the spam from the ham
Any time the LibAnswers spam filter rates an incoming email as potential spam, the ticket will be rerouted to the Spam tab of the dashboard. In addition, whenever a user marks a ticket as spam on the dashboard, that ticket will be listed here, as well. Sometimes, though, a legitimate email (aka "ham") may be considered spam by mistake. By regularly checking spam, you will be able to review these tickets and return them to your queue if needed.
Once you've reviewed your tickets, you can delete any tickets that are legit spam. Regularly clearing out your spam can make it easier to identify when new tickets land in your spam queue. (Tickets left in spam for 30 days will automatically be deleted.)
- Marking a ticket as spam
Learn how to mark a ticket as spam, which will move it from your open tickets to the Spam tab on your Dashboard.
- Managing tickets marked as spam
Learn how to restore tickets incorrectly marked as spam and permanently delete the rest.
Restoring and purging deleted tickets
When a ticket is deleted from your Dashboard or Knowledge Base Explorer, it will be sent to your system's Trash Can for 30 days. If a ticket was accidentally deleted, this allows Admin users to easily restore it to your queue. After that 30-day window, the ticket will be automatically and permanently deleted from the system. However, you can empty your trash can manually at any time.
- Manage deleted tickets in your LibAnswers trash can
Learn how to browse, restore, and permanently delete tickets from your trash can.
- Deleting (or closing) tickets from the dashboard
Learn how to delete tickets (in bulk) from your dashboard.
Updating ticket statuses & applying bulk actions
From the Dashboard, you'll find shortcuts for each ticket that will allow you to quickly update the ticket's status -- or even delete it. For example, if someone accidentally sent in duplicate questions, you could delete one of them. Or, if someone simply replied to say thanks or that they no longer need help, you could close those tickets without sending a reply.
Every so often, though, you may need to make the same change to a whole bunch of tickets. For example, you may need to close out a number of open tickets, add a tag to a group of new tickets that came in during your catalog outage, or send the same message out to several patrons who want to know more about a new service you're offering. Rather than going through every ticket one-by-one-by-one, admin account holders (and regular accounts with queue-level admin permissions) can make bulk updates to tickets right from the dashboard!
- Deleting or closing tickets from the dashboard
Learn how to quickly close a ticket without sending a reply, or delete it altogether. Deleted tickets will be sent to your LibAnswers trash can, giving you up to 30 days to restore them before they are permanently deleted from the system.
- Making bulk changes to tickets
Learn how to select multiple tickets and apply bulk changes.
- How to use the Knowledge Base Explorer to search, browse, and export tickets
Learn how to use the KB Explorer's advanced search filters to find tickets and apply bulk updates.
- Deleting a ticket reply or internal note
Learn how to delete individual ticket replies and notes from a single ticket.