Manage user access permissions to the Systems Status Management tool

By default, only system-level Admin users are allowed to manage the Systems Status Management (SSM) tool, including the ability to:

  • Customize settings
  • Create and manage products
  • Create and manage posts
  • Create and manage ideas & votes

Regular users, by contrast, can only view the dashboard, including product statuses and posts. They cannot add or update them unless given access to the SSM tool by an Admin.

There are two user access levels that Admins can extend to Regular users in the SSM tool:

  • Editor: these users can update product status; add/edit/delete their own posts; and approve/edit/delete ideas & votes.
  • Admin: all Editor permissions, plus the ability to customize the SSM tool's settings. System-level Admins automatically have this access level.

All system-level Admins, as well as Regular users given Admin access to the SSM tool, can manage user access to the SSM tool. To get started:

  1. Go to Admin > Systems Status Management.
  2. Click on the Settings tab.
  3. Scroll down to the User Access box.
    • The System Admin Users list will display all system-level Admins. These users automatically have the Admin access level for the SSM tool.
    • Regular-level users who have been given access to the SSM tool will be listed below it.

The User Access box under the Settings tab


Adding user access

  1. Click on the Give users access button.
  2. In the User Access window, use the Choose a level option to select which access level to apply to the selected users.
  3. From the Select Users dropdown, select one or more users to add.
    • If you need to add users with different access levels (i.e. some as Admin, some as Editor), then add users in two separate batches.
  4. Click the Save button.

Options in the User Access window


Modify or remove user access

  1. Click on a user's edit () icon in the Level column.
  2. In the User Access window, choose a new access level from the Choose a level options.
    • To remove a user's access completely, select the Remove Access option.
  3. Click the Save button.

Options to edit or remove a user's access 

Related Articles