In This Article

Edit and remove user accounts from a co-op

A co-op's Institution Admin users can edit and remove any user account that belongs to their home institution.

  • When editing a user's account, you can change their user level, profile image, and contact & background info that is visible to other co-op staff members.
  • When removing a user's account, this will prevent the user from monitoring the co-op when signed into LibChat. In addition, they will no longer be able to log into the Co-op dashboard.

A Co-op Admin, on the other hand, can edit and remove users from any institution in the co-op. Learn more about account levels in Adding users from your library to a LibChat co-op.


Getting started

  1. Log into your local LibAnswers site and click on LibChat in the navigation bar.
  2. From the dropdown, select the Login link for the co-op you want to add users to.

The co-op login link under the LibChat menu

  1. From your co-op dashboard, go to Admin > Accounts.

The Accounts link under the Admin menu


View or edit a co-op user's account

  1. On the Manage Accounts page, click on the edit () icon in the Actions column for the user you want to edit.
    • You will see all accounts in the co-ops you belong to.
    • Institution Admin users can only view and edit users from their home institutions.
    • Co-op Admin users can view and edit users from all institutions in their co-ops.

The edit icon on the Manage Accounts page

  1. On the Edit Account page, you can customize the following options:
    1. Nickname: this is the name that patrons will see when chatting with this user.
    2. User Level: this determines the user's permission within the co-op. 
      • Regular: User can log in and monitor chats for the Co-Op, and view transcripts, statistics, and feedback only for chats they've answered.
      • Institution Admin: User can answer Co-Op chats and view transcripts, statistics, and feedback for all users from their home LibAnswers institution; can add/edit accounts for their home institution's users.
      • Co-Op Admin: User can answer Co-Op chats, view all transcripts, statistics, and feedback, and add/edit accounts for users from any institution.
    3. Profile Image: choose whether to display the user's profile image from their LibApps user account, or a generic profile image when chatting with patrons.
    4. Profile Image Background Color: use the color picker to select a background color for the user's profile image, or enter the HEX value for a specific color.
      • If displaying the user's LibApps profile image, this color will appear as a border around it.
      • If displaying the generic profile image, this will change the color of the entire image.
    5. Full Address: this allows you to add a mailing address for the user. This is not visible to patrons -- it is only visible to that user and other admin users in the co-op.
    6. Office Phone #: this allows you to add a contact phone number for the user. This is not visible to patrons -- it is only visible to that user and other admin users in the co-op.
    7. Subject Specialties: this allows you to list any of the user's subject specialties. This is not visible to patrons -- it is only visible to that user and other admin users in the co-op.
    8. Education / Experience: this allows you to list any relevant education/degrees or experience for this user. This is not visible to patrons -- it is only visible to that user and other admin users in the co-op.
  2. When finished, click the Save button.
    • Or, click the Back to Manage Accounts button to return to the Manage Accounts page without saving any changes.

Options on the Edit Account page


Remove a user from a co-op

  1. On the Manage Accounts page, click on the edit () icon in the Actions column for the user you want to edit.
    • You will see all accounts in the co-ops you belong to.
    • Institution Admin users can only view and edit users from their home institutions.
    • Co-op Admin users can view and edit users from all institutions in their co-ops.

The edit icon on the Manage Accounts page

  1. On the Edit Account page, scroll down to the bottom and click the Remove From Co-Op button.
    • When removing a user's account, this will prevent the user from monitoring the co-op when signed into LibChat. In addition, they will no longer be able to log into the Co-op dashboard. You can add the user back to the co-op at any time.
    • This does not delete the user from their home institution's LibAnswers system.

The Remove from Co-Op button

  1. In the Remove Account window, click Yes to proceed with removing the account, or No to cancel.

The Remove Account window

Related Articles

    Nav menu script