FAQ content

Accounts: Configure the default permissions for regular users

In this article

Admins can set the default permissions for regular users' access to the Appointments Booking Explorer, the Hours module, and various elements of the Space bookings & Equipment bookings modules -- including creating bookings, editing bookings, setting the User Showed Up status, and checking out/in equipment bookings.

While the values you set here will be the default permissions for all regular users, if a user has a value set on their account then that per-user value will take priority over the values set on this page.


To manage the default regular user permissions:

  1. Go to Admin > Accounts from the command bar.
  2. Go to the Regular User Permissions tab. 
  3. When finished modifying your default permission settings, click the Save button at the bottom of the page.

Navigating to and saving regular user permissions


Appointments default permissions

For the Appointments module, you can set the default permissions for access to the Booking Explorer and Calendar tabs.

  1. Booking Explorer / Calendar:
    • No access
    • Can see all user appointments
    • Can see only their appointments

Appointments options under the Regular User Permissions tab


Equipment & Spaces default permissions

For the Equipment & Spaces module, you can set up granular default permissions for a variety of functions. These include:

  1. Create Bookings
    • Not allowed to create bookings​​
    • Allowed to create bookings. Bookings require approval at mediated locations
    • Allowed to create bookings. Bookings are automatically approved at mediated locations
  2. Edit Bookings
    • ​​Not allowed to edit bookings
    • Allowed to edit bookings
  3. User Showed Up
    • Cannot set user showed up status
    • ​​Can set user showed up status
  4. Check Out / Check In Bookings
    • ​​Not allowed to Check Out / Check In bookings
    • Allowed to Check Out / Check In bookings
  5. Hours Maintenance
    • No Access
    • Full Access (Note: this allows users to setup custom hours, schedules, and exceptions for Equipment & Spaces only)

Note: when a user's access is set to 'Not allowed' for any of the above, their access to that function will be read-only. If granted Hours Maintenance permission, these users will see the Admin > Spaces & Equipment menu the next time they log into LibCal.

Equipment & Spaces options under the Regular User Permissions tab


Hours default permissions

By default, only Admin users have access to the Hours module. However, you can customize user permissions for Regular users as follows:

  1. Libraries
    • No Access
    • Allowed to adjust schedule and add/remove exceptions
    • Full Access (Note: this allows users to add, edit, and remove libraries, in addition to managing hours & exceptions)
  2. Weekly Templates
    • No Access
    • Full Access (Note: this allows users to add, edit, and delete weekly hours templates)
  3. Widgets
    • No Access
    • Full Access

Note: when a user has been granted access to any of the above Hours features, they will see the Admin > Hours menu the next time they log into LibCal.

Hours options under the Regular User Permissions tab