How to edit, delete, and export databases in your A-Z Database List

Who can manage databases?

Unlike your LibGuides assets library (Content > Assets), the A-Z Database List can only be managed by the following users:

  • Admin users
  • Regular users with the Manage Assets permission (CMS only)

Although all other users can reuse databases in their guides, they cannot add or edit them.


Viewing your A-Z Database List

  1. To view and manage your databases, go to Content > A-Z Database List.
    1. Under the Databases tab, use the options at the top of the page to filter your database list by the following fields:
      • Name / Keywords (this looks for text in both the Name and Alternative Names/Keywords fields)
      • Desc. / More Info (this looks for text in both the Description and More Info fields)
      • URL
      • Internal Note
      • Subjects
      • Types
      • Vendors
      • Permitted Uses
      • Hidden
      • New / Trial / Popular
      • Owner
    2. Click the Filter button to apply the selected filters (or click Clear to remove all applied filters).
    3. Click on a column heading to sort by that column in ascending order. Click it again to switch to descending order.
    4. To preview your public A-Z Database List page, click on Preview A-Z List.
  2. To view an individual database, click on its name.
    • This will allow you to view the database's metadata, as well as a complete list of its guide mappings.
    • While viewing a database, you will also be able to edit it.

Options for filtering and sorting the A-Z Database List 

Example of a database record

The following is an example of what you'll see when viewing a database. This includes:

  • The option to edit the database
  • A listing of all database information, such as the name, description, and assigned subjects.
  • A list of all guide mappings (i.e. where your databases are being reused in your guides)
  • If you have LibGuides CMS:
    • If your database is linked to the A-Z Community record, you'll have the option to copy the current database description to your local mapping.
    • You will also see a summary of holdings in the Community under the Community Statistics.

Viewing an individual database


Editing and deleting databases

  1. To see which guides are reusing a database: click on the number in the Map Ct. column.
    • This will list all guides that have added the database.
    • Keep in mind that, even if a database has a mapping count of 0, it is still being displayed on your A-Z Database List.
  2. To view the database's Community information (CMS Only): click on the Link to Community Item () icon in the Actions column.
    • If you are not linking to the database in the A-Z Community, this icon will be disabled.
    • From here, you can view the the database description, library review, and community holdings summary.
    • If the Community's description is different than your own, you can reuse it in your own database.
  3. To edit a database: click on the Edit () icon in the Actions column. This will allow you to change any of the database's options.
  4. To delete a database: click on the Delete () icon in the Actions column.
    • Note: when you delete a database, it will be completely removed from your A-Z Database List, as well as from any guides to which it was added.
    • Not sure if a database was added to any guides? Look at the Map Ct. column. If there are any mappings, you can click on the number to see a summary of the guide locations.
    • Rather hide a database instead of delete it? Edit the database, then select the Hidden checkbox and save.

 Be careful when deleting databases!

Deleting an database will permanently remove it from your system and cannot be undone.

  • The database will be removed from your public A-Z Database List page.
  • If the database is being reused (i.e. mapped) on other guides, deleting it will also remove it from those guides. The Map Ct. column will indicate the number of guides where an asset is being reused.
  • Statistics for deleted databases will be retained. They will appear in your Assets statistics by their ID number and a name of "[deleted]".
  • Only an Admin or a regular user with the Manage Assets permission (CMS only) can delete a database.

Options for editing, deleting, and viewing community info for a database


Exporting your databases

  1. You can export your database records by clicking on the Export All Records button and choosing an output format. You can export to:
    • HTML (to view in your browser)
    • CSV (to view and edit in Excel)
    • TEMPLATE (this will give you an export in the same format as the import spreadsheet, allowing you to more easily update your databases in bulk)

If you've filtered your A-Z list, your export will only include those filtered records. Regardless of which output type you choose, the exported file will include every available field (URL, subjects, etc.) for each database.

Exporting databases

Related Articles