FAQ content

Emptying and deleting datasets

In this article

Emptying datasets

When you empty a dataset, all records added to the dataset will be deleted. However, the dataset fields will remain, allowing you to continue using the dataset. This can come in handy if you're testing out a new dataset: once you're ready to start using it with real data, you can easily empty the test records first.

Clicking on the Empty Dataset button

  1. Go to Admin > Manage Datasets.
  2. Find the dataset you want to empty and click on its Empty Dataset () button in the Actions column.

Emptying a dataset

  1. When prompted to confirm, click on the OK, Empty this Dataset button.
Caution: emptying a dataset will permanently delete all of its records. This cannot be undone, so please be careful!

Deleting a dataset

If you would like to completely remove a dataset from your system, you can delete it. Unlike just emptying the dataset of its records, this will also delete the dataset itself and any associated widgets.

Clicking on the Delete button

  1. Go to Admin > Manage Datasets.
  2. Find the dataset you want to empty and click on its Delete Dataset () button in the Actions column.

Deleting a dataset

  1. You will be prompted to review a summary of the dataset. Select the I understand that this cannot be undone checkbox if you are ready to proceed.
    • Please review this information carefully, as it will list the total number of records in the dataset, as well as any associated widgets, APIs, and dashboards.
  2. Click on the OK, Delete this Dataset button to delete it.
Caution: deleting a dataset will permanently delete all of its records and any connected widgets & APIs. Its data will also be removed from any dashboards where it had been added. This cannot be undone, so please be careful!